Senior Syllabus

16 years and above

All adult judokas are graded to White Belt on completion of the Beginners’ Induction Course (Red to White Belt). They then continue to wear the White Belt until they are graded to colour belts.

The senior grading pathway is as follows:

  • Red Belt – 7th Kyu
  • White Belt – 6th Kyu
  • Yellow Belt – 5th Kyu
  • Orange Belt – 4th Kyu
  • Green Belt – 3rd Kyu
  • Blue Belt – 2nd Kyu
  • Brown Belt – 1st Kyu
  • Black Belt – 1st Dan
  • Black Belt –  2nd Dan
  • Black Belt – 3rd Dan
  • Black Belt – 4th Dan
  • Black Belt – 5th Dan
  • Red and White Belt – 6th Dan
  • Red and White Belt – 7th Dan
  • Red and White Belt – 8th Dan
  • Red Belt – 9th Dan
  • Red Belt – 10th Dan


  • It is important that one grade is awarded at each grading. Jumping of grades should only occur in exceptional circumstances.
  • All of the required syllabus techniques are to be demonstrated to an appropriate level and it is intended that the level of examination should become greater in-depth as the student progresses through their grade.
  • At each grading the examiner may also ask questions from previous examinations, this will help further assess the ability and capability of the student.
  • Once a junior judoka reaches the age of a senior judoka (16 years old), they will be asked to undertake a junior examination at the grade that best represents their current skill level.